While waiting

The one I long to see,
like him I strive to be; 
though there be wear and tear,
the prize, I know, is dear.

I dare not ever flinch,
plodding to gain an inch;
for when the stake is high,
I bid fear and doubt bye.

The flesh shall surely fail,
but Grace shall help me sail.
By fair wind of faith I 
wing to the peak—the sky.

Though trough and crest may crawl,
with no one shall I brawl.
In the furnace heat, gold 
finds its glory on hold.

The one I long to see,
Like him I sure must be.

© 2016 Celestine S. Ikwuamaesi

By savingwordtracts

Leave a Reply

